Meet Charles Cratchit in A Christmas Carol

Name? My name is Lucas Oktay.

Character? I play Charles Cratchit and Master Fezziwig.

unknown-1
Lucas Oktay (left) in A Christmas Carol. Photo by Chris Bennion.

A little background of yourself: I’m 13 years old and I go to Hamilton Middle School. I play the electric guitar, and I also play as much ultimate frisbee as I can! I have performed at Seattle Children’s Theatre, Coeur d’Alene Summer Theatre, and with Showtunes Theatre Company.

How many years have you been in ACT’s A Christmas Carol? This is my first year performing in ACT’s A Christmas Carol, and I am loving every minute of it!

What has been your favorite part? My favorite part has been working with so many fun, talented actors. It also brings me joy to be part of a show that reminds people what Christmas is about!

How do you get ready for a show? Sometimes before a show, some of the cast gets together to witness a rap battle between one of the kids and Connor Toms (Mr. Cratchit). This is always hilarious and gets us in a good mood. Especially because Connor can’t really rap: “Hamilton, yeeeeeeeeeeeeeah,” is his best line. Ooooooooh, diss!

What do you always have to have in your dressing room? I always have my portable keyboard, my headphones, and my laptop so I can work on writing songs when we have a break between shows.

If you could be any character in A Christmas Carol, who would it be? I would love to be Spirit 2/The Ghost of Christmas Present because he is an over-the-top, extravagantly cheerful character. Plus, he rises from under the trap door on a fancy throne! I’d also love to play The Bread Lady because her lines get the biggest laughs!lucas-oktay

For those who have never seen ACT’s A Christmas Carol, what is the best moment of the show (whether it’s onstage or backstage)? Onstage, the best moment by far is The Bread Lady scene. Backstage, nothing beats the dance parties with Rob Burgess (Mr. Fezziwig) and the rest of the cast. Rob is just as fun backstage as he is onstage!

See Lucas in A Christmas Carol, on now-Dec 28. Tickets available here.

Leave a Reply

