Meet Mrs. Cratchit in A Christmas Carol

Name? Christine Marie Brown

Character? Mrs. Cratchit / Narrator / Fezziwig Party Guest

A little background on yourself: I’m originally from the east coast. After receiving my M.F.A. from the Old Globe Theatre, I lived in NYC for many years and had the great good fortune to play Juliet, Rosalind, Viola, Hotspur, Regan and many others in Shakespeare’s canon. Other favorite roles include Elmire in Tartuffe, Masha in The Three Sisters, and Mrs. Banks in Mary Poppins.christine-brown

How many years have you been in ACT’s A Christmas Carol? First time this year!

What has been your favorite part? I’m a total Christmas freak and I have always loved this story. So to get to be in it for the first time is a dream come true. The cast! This is such a great group of people. Plus I get to come to work with my husband every day. That was really three answers, wasn’t it?

How do you get ready for a show? Breathe, do some articulation warm ups, go over my text. I also do some quiet breathing backstage, alone before certain scenes.

What do you always have to have in your dressing room? A cloth to put down underneath my supplies, a mug to throw pencils, mascara, brow set, and brushes in, a small mirror to put on eyeliner with, a robe and snacks!

If you could be any character in A Christmas Carol, who would it be? Scrooge, of course. It’s an amazing role.

For those who have never seen ACT’s A Christmas Carol, what is the best moment of the show (whether it’s onstage or backstage)? Connor Toms (Bob Cratchit), Sydney Andrews (Belle), and I all wait together for our entrance into the Fezziwig Party. We do a dance “warm up” together to get ready for that scene. It’s by turns all of the following: naughty, ridiculous, ugly, non-sensical, and hilarious. And it gets me ready to play, ready to move, and reminds me how much fun it is that we get to tell this story… Onstage, there are so many: Marley’s entrance, the Fezziwig scene, Tiny Tim going to hug Scrooge at the end.

See Christine in A Christmas Carol, on now-Dec 28. Tickets available here.

Leave a Reply

