Meet Marley in A Christmas Carol

 Name? G. Valmont Thomas

Character? The Ghost of Jacob Marley / Old Joe

A little background on yourself: I began my career in Seattle theatre in 1981 playing Truffaldino in Servant of Two Masters at CTC (later the Hugo House on Capitol Hill), was a company member of The Bathhouse Theatre from 1984-1991, and worked at The Empty Space Theatre and Seattle Group Theatre throughout the 1980s. I have an M.F.A. in Directing for the Theatre from Penn State, and was a Company member at Oregon Shakespeare Festival from 1998-2012.act-a-christmas-carol-172
How many years have you been in ACT’s A Christmas Carol? In 2013 I played Spirit 2, and in 2015 and 2016, I played Marley/ Old Joe.

What do you look forward to each year? I look forward to feeling the Christmas season grow within our theatre and in downtown Seattle.

How do you get ready for a show? I listen to music while applying my makeup. Then I do vocal exercises before Marley’s scene.

What do you always have to have in your dressing room? Music and Baby Wipes…oh, and certain toiletries …

If you could be any character of A Christmas Carol, who would it be? I really enjoy the two characters I get to play this year, but someday I want to play Ebenezer Scrooge!

See G. Val in A Christmas Carol, on now-Dec 28. Tickets available here.

 

Leave a Reply

