Meet Young Scrooge in A Christmas Carol

Name? Julian Mudge-Burns

Character? Young Scrooge and Peter Cratchit

A little background of yourself: I’m eleven-years-old and am thrilled to be a part of A Christmas Carol this holiday season! Professionally I have played Boy in The Big Meal with New Century Theatre Company, Young Peter in The Brothers K with Book-It Repertory Theatre, and have been a sewer child and a member of the youth ensemble in Chitty Chitty Bang Bang with Seattle Children’s Theatre. Some of my other favorite roles include Young Simba in The Lion King, Jr. and Teacher in Singin’ in the Rain, Jr. with Seattle Children’s Theatre Summer Season; Prospero in The Tempest; Milo in The Phantom Tollbooth; and Lumiere in Beauty and the Beast. I began acting, singing, and dancing when I was six. I also love to play soccer, watch Sounders games, and play the clarinet.

How many years have you been in ACT’s A Christmas Carol? This is my first year.

What has been your favorite part? Being a part of this Seattle holiday theatre tradition is a dream come true for me. I love working with this cast, they are super fun to be around and are very talented and supportive. I have learned a lot from being a part of this show and from working with Kurt Beattie.IMG_2947.JPG

How do you get ready for a show? I get a good night of sleep, eat well, and warm up before a performance.

What do you always have to have in your dressing room? A water bottle and a hair brush.

If you could be any character in A Christmas Carol, who would it be? Spirit 3, Turkey Boy, Scrooge, and Old Joe as well as the roles I currently play (Young Scrooge and Peter Cratchit).

For those who have never seen ACT’s A Christmas Carol, what is the best moment of the show (whether it’s onstage or backstage)? I really enjoy the special effects in this show, they are very exciting! I particularly like the effects in the scene between Scrooge and Jacob Marley as well as the entrance of Spirit 3. The trap doors are also very cool!

See Julian in A Christmas Carol, on now-Dec 28. Tickets available here.

Top photo by Chris Bennion.

Leave a Reply

