The Royale – Meet Zenobia Taylor

Zenobia Taylor plays Nina in The Royale. She will be taking over @acttheatre on Instagram Sep 2 and 3! Follow her as she shows us moments of The Royale rehearsals and what a young actress in Seattle does during tech week of a large Mainstage show.

Before she takes over Instagram, here’s an introduction to our latest ACT debut:

This is your debut at ACT. How has the experience been so far?

It’s been a whirlwind. Very exciting! ACT was actually where I first performed [with Broadway Bound’s The Wiz] and it’s great to be back in my first-ever professional role.

You are from Seattle. Where were you born and where did you grow up?

I was born in the Central District on 26th & Charles. From there, I lived all around Seattle. I love Capitol Hill!

Where did you go to high school?

DSC_0525.JPG
Zenobia Taylor in rehearsal for The Royale.

I went to Garfield High School and then Center School for one year.

What do you do in your free time from acting?

Honestly, Netflix, hanging out with friends, and Mexican food.

What do you generally watch on Netflix?

(Laughing) Reruns of Bob’s Burgers and That’s 70s Show.

How has playing Nina (a minimal, but striking character) in The Royale affected you both in rehearsal and in life?

Nina’s character definitely drew to me. It’s very different than what I have done before. She is very grounded to me. We have very similar experiences despite that she was in 1908 and I am in 2016. Nina’s character has definitely challenged myself to where I want to be.

Back to Seattle, when you want to escape from everything, where do you like to go?

(Smiling) Volunteer Park. You can be in the trees, but be up the street from Mexican food on Broadway.

See Zenobia in The Royale, Sep 9-Oct 9 at ACT Theatre. Tickets and info here.

Leave a Reply

